IRS Bank Reporting: Cash, Form 8300, FBAR, and Payment Apps

IRS bank reporting covers a defined set of transactions: interest and investment income paid to you, cash deposits or withdrawals above $10,000, activity a bank considers suspicious, payments routed through apps and marketplaces, digital asset sales starting in 2026, and foreign account holdings. Everything else — routine checking activity, debit card purchases, electronic transfers between accounts, personal payments to friends — is not reported transaction by transaction. Knowing where the lines fall helps you file an accurate return and avoid problems that have little to do with how much money you actually make.

Income Your Bank Already Reports

Before you file your return, the IRS already has a copy of the passive income your bank and brokerage paid you. The reporting runs on the 1099 series.

If a bank or credit union pays you $10 or more in interest during the year — on a savings account, certificate of deposit, or money market account — it must send you Form 1099-INT and file a copy with the IRS.1Internal Revenue Service. About Form 1099-INT, Interest Income Interest below $10 is still taxable; you report it even without the form.

Dividends work the same way. Stocks or mutual funds that pay you $10 or more generate Form 1099-DIV, which separates ordinary dividends from qualified dividends taxed at the long-term capital gains rate.2Internal Revenue Service. Instructions for Form 1099-DIV

When you sell stocks, bonds, or mutual fund shares, your broker reports the sale on Form 1099-B, showing gross proceeds and, for covered securities, your adjusted cost basis and whether the gain is short- or long-term.3Office of the Law Revision Counsel. 26 USC 6045 – Returns of Brokers If you haven’t given the broker a correct Taxpayer Identification Number, the broker also applies backup withholding and reports it on the same form; you claim it as a credit on your return.

Cash Deposits and Withdrawals Over $10,000

Any time you deposit, withdraw, or exchange more than $10,000 in physical cash in a single business day, your bank files a Currency Transaction Report with the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN).4FFIEC BSA/AML InfoBase. FFIEC BSA/AML Manual – Currency Transaction Reporting The IRS and other federal agencies can access these reports. The filing is automatic under the Bank Secrecy Act; the bank doesn’t need to suspect anything wrong.5Office of the Law Revision Counsel. 31 USC 5313 – Reports on Domestic Coins and Currency Transactions

Two details catch people off guard. First, the threshold applies to combined transactions in the same business day at the same bank. A $6,000 deposit in the morning and a $5,000 deposit in the afternoon are treated as one $11,000 transaction, and a CTR follows. Second, “cash” means physical currency only. Checks, wire transfers, ACH payments, and card payments do not count toward the threshold, even when the amounts are much larger.

Why Splitting Deposits Is Worse Than Reporting

Breaking a large cash transaction into smaller pieces to stay under $10,000 is called structuring, and it is a federal crime regardless of whether the underlying money is legal.6Office of the Law Revision Counsel. 31 USC 5324 – Structuring Transactions to Evade Reporting Requirement Prohibited Depositing $9,500 on Monday and $9,500 on Wednesday to avoid a CTR is the textbook example. Bank employees are trained to spot the pattern, and structuring alone can bring prosecution even when the cash came from entirely legitimate sources.

A conviction under 31 USC 5324 carries fines of up to $250,000 and up to five years in prison, with penalties doubling when the structuring is tied to another federal offense. The government can also seize the cash through civil forfeiture before any criminal conviction. The routine CTR you were trying to avoid would have cost you nothing.

When Businesses Report Cash You Pay Them

A separate rule covers cash that never touches a bank. If you pay a business more than $10,000 in cash for a single transaction or a series of related transactions, that business must file IRS/FinCEN Form 8300 within 15 days.7Office of the Law Revision Counsel. 26 USC 6050I – Returns Relating to Cash Received in Trade or Business This catches large cash purchases of cars, jewelry, rent payments, and debt settlements.

The definition of cash on Form 8300 is broader than most people assume. It includes physical currency, foreign currency, and in some cases cashier’s checks, money orders, and bank drafts with a face value of $10,000 or less, when they’re used in a “designated reporting transaction” such as the retail purchase of a vehicle, collectible, or other tangible personal property worth more than $10,000.8Internal Revenue Service. IRS Form 8300 Reference Guide Beginning in 2026, digital assets also count as cash for Form 8300 purposes.7Office of the Law Revision Counsel. 26 USC 6050I – Returns Relating to Cash Received in Trade or Business

Installment payments that push the total past $10,000 within a 12-month window also trigger the filing. The business must send you a written notice by January 31 of the following year telling you a report was filed.8Internal Revenue Service. IRS Form 8300 Reference Guide

Payment Apps, Marketplaces, and Crypto

Payment apps and online marketplaces report the money they process for you on Form 1099-K. Under the One, Big, Beautiful Bill Act, the federal reporting threshold reverted to $20,000 in gross payments and more than 200 transactions during the calendar year. Both conditions must be met before a platform is required to file.9Internal Revenue Service. IRS Issues FAQs on Form 1099-K Threshold Under the One, Big, Beautiful Bill Some states set lower thresholds, so you may receive a 1099-K even if you fall below the federal cutoff.

The number on a 1099-K is the gross total of payments processed, before any fees, refunds, or chargebacks.10Internal Revenue Service. Understanding Your Form 1099-K That gross figure is almost always higher than your actual income, and you need to reconcile it against your own records when you file.

Cryptocurrency is about to look much more like a brokerage account. For sales made on or after January 1, 2026, crypto exchanges and other digital asset brokers must report transactions on the new Form 1099-DA, including gross proceeds and, for covered securities, cost basis.11Internal Revenue Service. Instructions for Form 1099-DA (2025) Before 2026, most crypto activity went unreported by exchanges and the IRS relied on self-reporting. If your records are casual, this is the year to tighten them.

Suspicious Activity Reports

Banks file Suspicious Activity Reports (SARs) with FinCEN when they see transactions that could involve illegal activity. A SAR isn’t triggered by crossing a specific dollar line the way a CTR is; it’s based on the bank’s judgment.12Financial Crimes Enforcement Network. FinCEN Suspicious Activity Report Electronic Filing Instructions Dollars still matter in practice: banks must file a SAR for suspected criminal activity involving $5,000 or more when a suspect can be identified, or $25,000 or more regardless of whether anyone is identified.13FFIEC BSA/AML InfoBase. FFIEC BSA/AML Manual – Suspicious Activity Reporting

Common triggers include activity that looks structured to evade reporting, transactions with no apparent business purpose, and patterns suggesting illegal source funds. The bank has 30 days from first detecting the activity to file, with a possible 30-day extension when no suspect has been identified. Filing cannot be delayed more than 60 days total.

You will not be told that a SAR was filed about you. Federal law prohibits the bank and its employees from disclosing a SAR to the person involved, and the prohibition extends to government employees who learn of it.14Office of the Law Revision Counsel. 31 USC 5318 – Compliance, Exemptions, and Summons Authority Violating that rule carries criminal penalties.

Foreign Accounts

Money held offshore is reported through two systems that overlap on purpose: one you file yourself, and one the foreign institution files about you. Having both gives the IRS independent paths to find undisclosed assets.

FBAR

Any U.S. person with a financial interest in, or signature authority over, foreign financial accounts must file a Report of Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts (FinCEN Form 114) when the combined value of those accounts exceeds $10,000 at any point during the year.15Internal Revenue Service. Report of Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts (FBAR) The threshold is cumulative. Three accounts holding $4,000 each put you over it.

The FBAR is filed electronically through FinCEN’s BSA E-Filing System, separately from your tax return. It’s due April 15 with an automatic extension to October 15, which you don’t need to request. Penalties are severe: a non-willful violation can cost up to $16,536 per report, and a willful violation can cost the greater of $165,353 or 50% of the account balance at the time of the violation.16eCFR. 31 CFR 1010.821 – Penalty Adjustment and Table Criminal prosecution is possible for willful violations, and unreported foreign income that leads to an underpayment can bring a 75% civil fraud penalty on top.

Form 8938

The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) works from the other side. Foreign financial institutions identify their U.S. account holders and report those accounts to the IRS.17Internal Revenue Service. Information for Foreign Financial Institutions

On your side, FATCA requires Form 8938 (Statement of Specified Foreign Financial Assets) with your return once your foreign assets exceed certain thresholds. For an unmarried taxpayer living in the U.S., the trigger is $50,000 on the last day of the year or $75,000 at any time during the year. Joint filers get double those amounts. Taxpayers living abroad have much higher thresholds: $200,000 at year-end or $300,000 at any time for single filers, and $400,000 or $600,000 for joint filers.18Internal Revenue Service. Do I Need to File Form 8938, Statement of Specified Foreign Financial Assets

Form 8938 and the FBAR overlap, but they’re not the same filing. Many people need to file both. The FBAR goes to FinCEN with the $10,000 threshold, while Form 8938 goes to the IRS with your return and covers a broader set of assets, including foreign stocks and financial instruments held outside a bank account.

What Banks Do Not Report

Given how broad the reporting rules are, the gaps matter. Routine checking account activity — paying bills, swiping a debit card, writing checks, receiving direct deposits — is not reported to the IRS transaction by transaction. Wire transfers, ACH payments, and credit card charges don’t generate CTRs at any dollar amount, because CTRs apply only to physical currency. A $50,000 wire won’t produce a CTR, though an unusual pattern could still prompt a SAR.

Transfers between your own accounts at the same bank generally don’t create a tax reporting event. Personal payments between friends through apps like Venmo or Zelle — splitting dinner, paying back a loan, sending a gift — are not supposed to appear on a 1099-K, which covers only payments for goods and services.10Internal Revenue Service. Understanding Your Form 1099-K If a platform mislabels a personal payment as business, you’ll need to reconcile that on your return.